From The Now, Into Eternity

So Emotional
The Greatest Love of All

Image via Wikipedia

She was beautiful. Her voice was amazing.

She was an icon of the 1980’s.

Her face graced the cover of Seventeen magazine. Her smile radiant.

I have memories, as a teen, of singing her songs to my bedroom mirror.

Millions enjoyed watching her, and co-star Kevin Costner, in The Body Guard.

Now she is gone. People mourn her loss.

I wonder if she ever knew?

Knew she was loved by so many…

I wonder how Whitney Houston felt about herself?

I realize that this woman was chased by her own demons.

There were issues. There always are.

For many, the price of fame is too high.

And sadly, they pay for it with their lives.

Whenever I hear of the death of someone famous, I am reminded…

Reminded that death is the great equalizer.

It doesn’t matter how rich, or how poor.

Talented or not.

A beautiful face or one only a mother could love.

We all will face death one day. There is no escaping it.

No denying it. It will happen.

And the only thing that will be important at that moment

as we cross from the now into eternity….

Do I know Him? Am I His child?

“I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me–” John 10:14  NIV

My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. John 10:27  NIV

That is what is truly important…above all else.

And no amount of money or fame can change that.

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.  John 3:16-17  NIV

***************************************

Thanking God today for:

* another day of life

* family and friends that love me

* appreciating what I have been given

* simplicity of this Monday morning

* beautiful morning sunshine splashed across the floor

* a full life

* lessons learned

* times of reflection

* a school room at home

* a husband who wants and enjoys spending time with me

* hands that are strong and can carry loads

* bare feet on a cold floor

* a warm, comfy robe

* the beauty of crystal sparkling on the chandelier

* hot chocolate in the crock pot

* knowing God, not just knowing of God

* Jesus. Just give me Jesus.

2 thoughts on “From The Now, Into Eternity

Leave a Reply

