Love Is A Great Gift

Holding hands“Love is never having to say you’re sorry.”

I don’t know who ever came up with that quote…but, just for the record I hate it. I completely disagree with the sentiment.

That statement is full of pride. The very thing that builds up walls and causes isolation, even within relationship.

Now, I cannot speak for everyone, but I know for myself that I am imperfect.

You heard me. Imperfect. I freely admit it.

Stubborn. Opinionated. Fierce.

Slow to boil, but when the steam is rising—step back or you might get burned.

Ugh. I dislike that about myself.

It has taken me years to realize that my gift of words can heal…or they can hurt.

And the choice is mine.

On Valentine’s Day everyone is talking about love. Millions of dollars are spent on showing each other how much we care.

Then February 15th rolls around and it is back to usual.

Relationship with any intimacy at all, is going to have times when the imperfect collides with reality.

Those times are the perfect time to say “I’m sorry”.  Those words have healing power, if said with sincerity.

Those words humble me.

Love in the real world is not some Saturday afternoon chick flick. It’s not the handsome guy on a white horse. Or even drowning in expensive chocolates……

Love is strong. And it is tough. And it is brave.

It is humbled. And it is servant. And it is forgiving.

Love is a great gift.

***********************

Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love.  Ephesians 4:2

 

 

4 thoughts on “Love Is A Great Gift

  1. Thanks, Dawn, what you say about love is true. I think “Love Story” was sophomoric and totally unrealistic. In any relationship, I believe, love is tough, not only for the person loving, but for the one who is loved. True unconditional love is tough and withstands lots of destructive attacks from Satan. It is also, many times, tough to do. Thank you for a great Valentine’s Day gift and love story.

  2. Great words about love! So true and beautiful. I think it’s amazing that neither of us like that quote and both blogged about it. Love ya my friend.

Leave a Reply

