Be Courageous!

Movie theater

Image by JanneM via Flickr

“Courage is being scared to death, but saddling up anyway.” —John Wayne
****************************

Courageous.

That single word, is the title of a movie that just hit the theaters.

No Hollywood schmooze. No pyrotechnics.

Just a good dose of reality, and…

one of the best movies I’ve seen, in a very long time.

Watching got me to thinking…..thinking about parenting. My children. My life.

The father in the story is on a quest to be a man of courage. He wants to be the father that God has called him to be.

That is no small feat, especially in today’s society. Being a father of courage means going against the odds. Going beyond the line of mediocrity, beyond “good enough”, and reaching for the very heart(s) of his children. Our world needs more men of courage. Men that aren’t afraid to tow the line, bear the burden, stand in the gap.

Being a parent is one of the greatest joys and (can be) the deepest of heartaches. It is a privilege that shouldn’t be taken lightly.

God also calls me to a higher standard. To His standard. It’s tough, and I’ve made plenty of mistakes. I’m challenged every day of my life. As a mother, I’ve known, and understood the closest I’ll ever come to unconditional love. I’ve cried tears of pure joy and I’ve been frustrated beyond belief as I look into the face of my child and know that he is JUST LIKE ME.

What does God call me to, as a mother?

Am I willing to take the challenge?

What will my legacy be? The memories I leave behind?

How will I make a mark on my children? On their lives? On the lives of their children?

Yes. The challenge is huge.

But, it is worth it.

Be courageous.

Always.

**************************************************************************

For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline2 Timothy 1:7 NIV

Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. Colossians 3:13  NIV

Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. Galatians 6:9 NIV

But those who hope in the LORD
will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
they will run and not grow weary,
they will walk and not be faintIsaiah 40:31 NIV

You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you so that you might go and bear fruit—fruit that will last—and so that whatever you ask in my name the Father will give you. John 15:16  NIV

************************************************

As a mother, a wife, a daughter, a friend… my hope is in the Lord.  Through all of life’s challenges… He teaches me how to be courageous in my walk.

4 thoughts on “Be Courageous!

  1. Oh Dawn, I needed to hear this today! Thank you for the beautiful reminder to parent with courage. (And thank you for the movie review; I’ve been wanting to see it!)

    Many blessings to you today, my friend.

  2. You are right on target!!! I have lived this mother life for 33 years and it takes everything you said and more. You will see the fruit…not today, not tomorrrow, but someday you will hold your first grandchildren in your arms and become in awe of what the Lord has done.

    Warning! You aren’t done when that moment happens! You keep going and learning and growing….AND it is worth every bit of determination, prayer and trust in God!

    What amazing women, wives, and moms you all are!

  3. Pingback: Do You Have The Courage To Watch This Movie? « Grand Rants

Leave a comment