Jesus In The Gospels

I often wonder what it would have been like to know Jesus while He was here…in this place. Walking this earth. Living among us. I think that once I knew that Jesus was, who He claimed to be…God….that I would have bombarded Him with questions. (Jesus is patient, right?)

Passion of Christ at Ginosa (TA) (Italy)

What is heaven like? What did it feel like to be at creation? Please explain The Trinity. How many stars are there? What were you thinking when you made the platypus? How did you make such beautiful colors in a sunset? Physics, and biology, and gifting people with words and colors……and Jesus…..um…….what I really want to ask……what I really want to know……Why do you love me so? Why are you willing to die for me?

Honestly, I’m glad I live in this current period of time but, it would have been wonderful to see Jesus face to face. I know that some day I will. I will stand before Him, and all my questions will have answers. It will all make sense. I, right now, can only see a dim image but, one day I will “get it”.

Now we see but a poor reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known. I Corinthians 13:12 NIV

I’ve had people ask me, “How can I know Jesus?”  I point them to the gospel books. Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. These are the written accounts of Jesus’ life on this earth. His words, His actions…that tell the story. Listen to what He says.

“Why were you searching for me?” he asked. “Didn’t you know I had to be in my Father’s house?” Luke 2:49  NIV (Jesus at age 12,  in the temple, when his parents were looking for Him.)

“Away with you, Satan!” replied Jesus, “the scripture says, ‘You shall worship the Lord your God, and him only you shall serve’.” Matthew 4:10

“Do not think that I have come to abolish the Law or the Prophets; I have not come to abolish them but to fulfill them. For truly I tell you, until heaven and earth disappear, not the smallest letter, not the least stroke of a pen, will by any means disappear from the Law until everything is accomplished.” Matthew 5:17-18 NIV

After John was put in prison, Jesus went into Galilee, proclaiming the good news of God.  “The time has come,” he said. “The kingdom of God has come near. Repent and believe the good news!” Mark 1: 14-15 NIV

Jesus replied, “Let us go somewhere else—to the nearby villages—so I can preach there also. That is why I have come.” Mark 1:38 NIV

“But what about you?” he (Jesus) asked. “Who do you say I am?” Peter answered, “You are the Messiah.”  Mark 8:29 NIV

“Why must you argue like this in your minds? Which do you suppose is easier – to say, ‘Your sins are forgiven’ or to say, ‘Get up and walk’? But to make you realize that the Son of Man has full authority on earth to forgive sins – I tell you,” he said to the man who was paralyzed, “get up, pick up your bed and go home!” Luke 5: 23-24

And He was saying to them, “The Son of Man is Lord of the Sabbath.” Luke 6:5 NIV

“And what is the point of calling me, ‘Lord, Lord’, without doing what I tell you to do?” Luke 6:46

Then he said to her, “Your sins are forgiven.” Luke 7:48

But Jesus said, “Somebody touched me, for I felt the power went out from me.” Luke 8:46

The next day John was there again with two of his disciples. When he saw Jesus passing by, he said, “Look, the Lamb of God!” John 1:35-36 NIV

“Is that your concern, or mine?” replied Jesus. “My time has not come yet.”  John 2:4 (Jesus before performing the miracle at the Cana wedding)

After this he went down to Capernaum, he, and his mother, and his brethren, and his disciples: and they continued there not many days. And the Jews’ passover was at hand, and Jesus went up to Jerusalem. And found in the temple those that sold oxen and sheep and doves, and the changers of money sitting: And when he had made a scourge of small cords, he drove them all out of the temple, and the sheep, and the oxen; and poured out the changers’ money, and overthrew the tables; And said unto them that sold doves, Take these things hence; make not my Father’s house an house of merchandise. John 2: 12-16 KJV

Believe me,” returned Jesus, “a man cannot even see the kingdom of God without being born again.” John 3:3

“I am Christ speaking to you now,” said Jesus. John 4:6

I have testimony weightier than that of John. For the very work that the Father has given me to finish, and which I am doing, testifies that the Father has sent me. John 5:36  NIV

“The work of God for you,” replied Jesus, is to believe in the one whom he has sent to you.” John 6:29

Then Jesus, still teaching in the temple courts, cried out, “Yes, you know me, and you know where I am from. I am not here on my own authority, but he who sent me is true. You do not know him, but I know him because I am from him and he sent me.” John 7:28-29  NIV

When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” John 8:12 NIV

Jesus answered, “I did tell you, but you do not believe. The works I do in my Father’s name testify about me,  but you do not believe because you are not my sheep.  My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.  I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand.  My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. I and the Father are one.” John 10: 25-30 NIV

“I myself am the resurrection and the life,” Jesus told her. “The man who believes in me will live even though he dies, and anyone who is alive and believes in me will never die at all. Can you believe that?” John 11: 25-26

On that day you will realize that I am in my Father, and you are in me, and I am in you. John 14:20 NIV

JESUS —- Name above all names.

MESSIAH. LORD OF ALL.




4 thoughts on “Jesus In The Gospels

  1. Loved reading all the scriptures. Dawn. Especially “My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one will snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand.” One of my favorites in all of Scripture. What assurance that can give us to know that nothing or no one will ever be able to separate us from God. Thank you for sharing and have a blessed day in the Lord.

  2. Pingback: Go Ask God, part 2 | Proverbs 31 Wanna-be

Leave a comment