Kindness Matters

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am an avid people watcher. The grocery store is a prime spot for the observant among us. That is where I found myself, on this gray and drizzly Friday morning in July. There are some days when I am in a rush to get what I need, grab it and go…but, today wasn’t one of those days. Today I took time to leisurely stroll up and down the aisles. In between buying the coffee and fresh produce, I noticed the people around me. The truth is, how often do we run through life, not slowing down, rushing on to the next necessary thing on our to do list? I’m often guilty….but, not today.

Sometimes I find myself wondering about people. Does the lady buying the cereal have someone at home waiting for her? Does she have plans? Is the elderly couple, getting the milk, someone’s parents? Are they in love or feeling alone? Is the young mom, with her three children in tow, filled with joy or is she trying to shove the memories away and forget? We just never really know, do we? What people are going through, I mean…….

I try to remember that.

Kindness is never a wrong choice.

Today just might be the day when someone whose path crosses yours, needs to be shown kindness the most.

Do to others as you would have them do to you. Luke 6:31