Father, You Are Good

I found a little treasure when I was out shopping yesterday. A tiny book entitled “Pocket Prayers” by Max Lucado. I was drawn to this book because I don’t know about you, but often times I feel stymied by what I think prayer is supposed to be. How do I really talk with my Creator? The One who knows me better than I know myself? I’ve been praying to Him since I was a child, but here I am nearly five decades later still wondering if I am missing something?

On page seven, Mr. Lucado compiled all the prayers of the Bible into one “pocket size” prayer.

“Father, you are good. I need help. Heal me and forgive me. They need help. Thank you. In Jesus’ name, amen.”

So simple, but oh, yes! I can relate to these words. They are few, and yet so full of meaning.

IMG_1695

Father,

You are good.…..A good, good Father. You are always good. You don’t know how to be anything but good and holy, and loving, and just. You are the ultimate truth and life.

I need help. Oh, how I need you. Not only do I need you for the hard and difficult things in life, but even those things I consider involuntary, like breathing, are under your control. You know my name. You know every hair on my head. You have already marked all my days in your book. When I call to you for help, you are always there.

Heal me and forgive me. I live in a world that is broken. Those of us on this spinning orb know what it is to feel pain, discontent, and regret. These feelings can weigh heavy on a heart that longs for forgiveness. Freedom from sickness and freedom from baggage, I was never meant to carry.

They need help. I’ve cried, because people I love are hurting. I’ve mourned their losses, I’ve held hands, and heard hearts. Sick beds, and sick souls. People that need help. It can seem overwhelming. Help them to find their peace in You.

Thank you. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you for your love. Thank you for your presence. Thank you for your wisdom. Thank you for your creations. Thank you for your death and resurrection. Thank you for your grace. Thank you for life.

In Jesus’ name, amen. The name above all names. The One who is fully God and was also fully man. He who died, so I could live. Savior. Lamb. The Son. The Prince of Peace. Lord of lords. The Good Shepherd. Emmanuel.

Every good thing given and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shifting shadow. James 1:17 

In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans. And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for God’s people in accordance with the will of God. Romans 8:26-27

“I am the good shepherd, and I know My own and My own know Me.” John 10:14 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Father, You Are Good

  1. Dawn, this is beautiful. Grateful for your thoughts. I’m in agreement. I love anything Max Lucado. He is one of my most favorite writers. Thanks for sharing. God bless.

Leave a Reply

