Challenge #13, A Toy Story

Today’s challenge is to remember one of my favorite toys as a child……

Mrs. Beasley

One of my favorite toys as a child, was my Mrs. Beasley doll. She was Buffy’s beloved doll on the TV show, Family Affair (aired on CBS, 1966-71).  When Mrs. B was new, she was a large doll, her soft body was blue with white dots. She had little plastic glasses, a dotted collar, an apron, and yellow feet (which I think were supposed to be “shoes” that were sewn on to her). Oh, and she had a cord that I could pull to hear her talk. Of course, as many dolls from childhood past, the talking dolls never talked for long. The sound was loved right out of them! Mrs. Beasley was a constant companion, and my mom had to perform several “surgeries” on my friend to properly reattach and restore an arm or neck. Somehow (I don’t remember when), my doll ended up with blue magic marker on her face. I’m sure I was attempting to give her some make-up. I still have Mrs. Beasley, although her glasses, and original clothing are long gone. To a toy collector she wouldn’t be worth much, but to me she was, and always will be priceless.

Leave a Reply

