Taking A Detour

102_4674

Today I was lost, turned around and backwards. I often tease with my husband calling myself, “directionally challenged”. I laugh about it too…unless I am on a backroad with no idea where I’m at, and am desperately needing to get to an appointment in town, on time.

The small village that we live outside of, in rural Ohio, is having work done on the railroad tracks. Since most of this village is surrounded by tracks, it makes it tricky getting around when roads are closed due to maintenance on those tracks. I thought I had it figured out and was able to get to a main road into town. All was well until on the main road I nearly slammed into yet ANOTHER road closed sign. What??!! How was I going to get into town? I turned onto a road, the only road NOT closed, that I had never been on before. I figured I knew the general direction I needed to take so I’d just drive and keep turning until I circled back around towards town. Now, if any of you have ever lived in or visited the rural Mid-west you know that country roads can meander on for quite a while and there are a lot of fields that all pretty much look the same. Unless you know the area, it can be confusing. Corn looks like corn, looks like corn. You, know?

I started to panic a little bit, not because I was scared of being lost (I’d eventually find my way back, even if I ended up in the next county over), but because I was going to be late to meet with one of my students at the library. I didn’t want him waiting on me and wondering. I called my husband (thankfully cell service still works in the middle of nowhere). He googled the road I was on, and was able to help me figure out what I needed to do, to safely ,and with my sanity still intact, make it to the library without too much problem. After a short jaunt ,on yet another road, I made it into town in one piece.

This whole experience got me thinking. My experience this morning is so much like life in general. I find myself cruising at 60 mph, believing my day is going to go exactly as planned. My plans. My way. That is until I almost slam into a detour sign. Sometimes God has to put up a very LARGE detour sign for me…..to make sure I see it, because unfortunately, so many times I am not paying attention.

God never gets lost or confused. He never worries about where He is taking me, or how many turns are in the road. He already knows the final destination and I can rest in the safety of that knowledge.

Proverbs 16:9 “The heart of man plans his way, but the Lord establishes his steps.”

Leave a Reply

