Blessed Be Your Name

Life has been hectic these last few weeks. My calendar is full and the days are overflowing. My to do list feels never ending. Sometimes life strangles the joy, with the chains of calendars and clocks. I haven’t posted on my blog very much in the last couple of weeks because I’ve not had the time to pull my scattered thoughts together. We all have days like this….or weeks…or months, when life is busy and we just need to stop, but we can’t. Or it feels like we can’t. Tonight I am taking some time. Taking a break from the race, to slow down. Catch my breath. And whisper in the quiet, to God who hears it all, my words of thanks. Once I begin, I don’t stop……there is so very much to be thankful for.

Father God, I acknowledge that You are the Creator and Sustainer, whose mercies are new every morning. You are the Giver of good gifts, and whose love never fails. If you never gave me another thing, what You have already given is enough, the gift of Your Son, Jesus. It is through Him that I have eternal life. I am underserving, but Your love toward me is never ending. Blessed be Your name above all names.  Amen

Today I am thankful to slow down and to savor all the gifts wrapped up in this day: *morning  sunlight filtering through curtains *my husband laying next to me *children that are sleeping soundly *bare feet on the floor *morning barks, meows, and crowing*rubbing the horse’s soft muzzle*morning sunlight setting the metal barn roof in a display of golden*a mowed yard*a good breakfast*the aroma of fresh coffee*the ding that the computer makes reminding me of friends far and wide that are making comments or are leaving me a message*a new website my husband created for me, that will help me to help others*a mama deer and her baby crossing our side yard*church service with fellow believers*singing praise*relaxing on the couch*eating popcorn*laughing*talking with my son about college and work and life*friends that make me smile*new adventures ahead*and God who is wonderful.

The LORD’S lovingkindnesses indeed never cease, For His compassions never fail.They are new every morning; Great is Your faithfulness. “The LORD is my portion,” says my soul, “Therefore I have hope in Him.”… Lamentations 3:22-24 NIV

IMG_1346

Leave a Reply

