Peace I Leave With You

It was dead. Its eyes closed, laying still.

I found myself staring at it. “Poor little bird, you were so beautiful.”

I found the little yellow bird laying on the floor of the barn, when I went out to feed our horse her morning breakfast. This was the same little bird I had seen in the barn the evening before. Trapped, in a panic. I opened the barn doors wide, hoping the little guy would find his way back out to wide open spaces. Instead the small bird banged into walls, fluttered helplessly into the rafters, and the whole while the doors were open to the outside!

P1030023

If only he had remained calm….he might have seen the open doors….the way to freedom, but instead his panic lead him to his demise. Sigh……..

How many times have I acted like this little bird? Stressed out, burnt out, flapping wildly in wide eyed panic, over not knowing. Not knowing what will happen next in my life. Not knowing how things will turn out. Not having answers to the “whys” and “hows” and “whens”. Often times worry has frayed my nerves and soured my stomach.

I beat hard against the unknown until I am exhausted. If only I had remembered to look!  I would have seen that The Door was already there.

“Peace I leave with you; My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you Do not let your heart be troubled, nor let it be fearful. John 14:27

 

One thought on “Peace I Leave With You

Leave a Reply

