It Is More Than Just A Word

Photo-1

I am a huge fan of the Gaines family of Waco, Texas, so whenever I see something about them, I drop whatever I am doing to watch. Joanna Gaines and her husband, Chip, are the stars of the wildly popular show, Fixer Upper, on HGTV. This morning I watched a short video clip of Joanna Gaines discussing some of her life story. She talked about trusting God, and believing in His timing. Her words resonated with me because they felt so familiar to my own.

I, too, have often asked God what His plan is for me? He knows me and is intimately knowledgable of all my thoughts and dreams. God knows what would make me happy and ultimately what would bring Him glory. I am left wondering how will He intertwine my personal passions into His plan? I realize that much of my frustration comes from the fact that my timing is not His. So many times, I have wanted something to happen, and it doesn’t. I tell God, “I don’t get it”! He reassuringly responds, “You aren’t ready yet. Be patient.”

There is a peace in knowing that God has me. When I am unable to see even a few seconds into the future–He already knows how everything will turn out. There is no safer place to share my dreams than with the One who knows my soul. He hears the whispers that no one else can hear. He reminds me of all the ways that I am His unique creation, and that there is no one else in all of history that is just like me. More importantly, He has and continues to show me, His abiding love.

Trust.

It is more than just a word.

It is an action.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
    and lean not on your own understanding;
in all your ways submit to him,
    and he will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3:5-6

Leave a Reply

