Safest Place To Be

IMG_0201

She could only see to where the road met the horizon. She kept walking. Some days she trudged along, tired and sweaty. Her feet hurt and she didn’t know if she had it in her to keep moving. The road stretched out before her, daunting, and she was uncertain to just where it would lead. On other days, she sang and danced down the road. She happily stopped to take in the picturesque views and breathe deeply the intoxicating scent of the wide open road that lay before her. The possibilities seemed endless. This road could lead to something exciting and fulfilling!

Much like the girl in the story, not one of us knows the twists and turns the road of our lives might take. It is actually very humbling when I realize that I have absolutely no idea what might happen this afternoon or this evening, or next week or next year. Oh, sure. I can plan, organize and hope….but, I can’t know for certain. My trust must be in the One who isn’t chained to calendars and clocks. He, and He alone, knows the future. He sees beyond where the road meets the horizon. He knows what is on the other side. He asks me to trust Him….with my life. When the road is dark and I can’t see, and I don’t understand how any of this mess is going to work out, He asks me to believe Him. When the road is easy and I’m standing in the wonder of joy and blessings, thank Him…..but, no matter what, always stay close to Him.

That is the safest place to be on this journey of life.

But do not overlook this one fact, beloved, that with the Lord one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day. 2 Peter 3:8 ESV

One thought on “Safest Place To Be

Leave a Reply

