Breathe In, Breathe Out

Life can sometimes be overwhelming, can’t it? There are always things that seem to pop up when they are the least expected, and the least wanted. Why can’t things ever be easy? Why don’t more things go right? The car quit working and to get it fixed is going to cost, I’ve stalled out on my weight loss, sometimes I just want to eat gluten even though it makes me very ill, some people have given me the cold shoulder, it hurts and confuses, I have friends that are going through difficult circumstances and my heart breaks, dogs and cats that poop and puke and make a mess for the umpteenth time, my muck boots have a tear in them (yuck), and my work schedule has been thrown off. I’m just plain old, tired.

IMG_1163

After going through my laundry list of all the wrongs in my world, I am reminded of something one of my favorite authors, Ann Voskamp, wrote in her book, One Thousand Gifts. She talked about how often we see the holes in this fabric of life. Our eyes so often concentrate on the empty…..we neglect to see the full. (my paraphrase) I will admit, I am so guilty of this. I know better….I know what it is to be thankful, and yet I allow myself to fall into the “if only” mentality. If only I did this or that, if only I had this or that then everything would work out and life would be great.

The Great Deceiver whispers in a quiet voice, a voice that chokes and smothers. One that taunts me about all there is to not be thankful for. All the things that are not good. All the ways that Christ lets me down. Fear creeps in through the cracks, and he smirks. Fear. Fear of all the what if’s, the if only’s, the pain, the misunderstandings, the exhaustion, the Father of Lies doesn’t retreat….he presses in harder. He wants to break me. That is what he is all about. He wants to come to kill and destroy, but I know The Truth. Christ has come that I might have life and have it to the full.

Rusted-apya-007

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I (Jesus) came that they may have life and have it abundantly. John 10:10 ESV

Will this life ever be perfect? No. We live in a broken, sin cursed world. Oh, but sweet friends, there is still so very much to be thankful for. Right in this moment, with the very breath that fills our lungs with life giving oxygen. Breathe in. He loves us. Breathe out. He cares. Breathe in. He lives. Breathe out. Forever.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

