The Darkness Can Not Overcome It

The seasons have changed, and with that the night time comes earlier, no more staying light until 9:30 or 10pm. Although, I had already fed Jazz hours earlier, I wanted to let her into the barn for the night. I grabbed my flashlight and headed over for our night time ritual.

102_3638

My LED flashlight gave off just enough white light for me to see where I was stepping. One foot after the other. Some nights the moon shines brightly and I can see perfectly without the aid of a man made light source. I live in the wide open country, no street lights, and at night it can get very dark. I often hear dogs barking in the distance, and occasionally, coyotes. I hear geese,  frogs, and owls and often times, the llamas across the road. Llamas hum to each other….it sounds kind of weird, if you don’t understand what it is that you are hearing in the pitch dark.

102_3468

When we first moved here, the night seemed very, very black. Scary, even. After being here for several years, it is no longer that way for me, although I remain cautious. I don’t want to run into a opossum, skunk, or raccoon and so I try to be aware.  In the complete darkness out here, I am thankful for my light.

When we can’t see, and we’re scared we need the light.

Jesus already knew this. That is why He came.

For a dark and broken world, Jesus is that light.

IMG_1202

“The Light shines in the darkness and the darkness has not overcome it.” John 1:5 

Leave a Reply

