The Gift Of Time

I had my annual doctor appointment today. I, like most, dread going to see the doctor. I like my doctor, I just don’t like the entire concept of having to see him. Blood drawn. Labs completed. Blood pressure taken. The normal stuff for me. Evidently, meeting with my physician at 8:20 on a Monday morning is a good thing. The day started just a few minutes earlier, so he is not behind in seeing patients and I have his undivided attention… which is often rare in today’s healthcare. 

Basically, I am healthy. Everything is good…and I am so thankful. 

Unfortunately, I know many people who are not in good health. It is so hard. 

Some are fighting heart problems, or cancer, or Alzheimers. Good health is a valuable thing, and one most of us take for granted until we find ourselves in the middle of something. I can do everything I possibly can to maintain my health. Eat right. Exercise. Laugh a lot. 

But, ultimately my life is in God’s hands. It always has been, from the moment He lovingly created me in my mother’s womb, to the day He calls me home…..my time is already written down. He alone knows how many days I have. 

May I never be cavalier with the time I have been gifted. 

For You formed my inward parts; You wove me in my mother’s womb. I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Wonderful are Your works, And my soul knows it very well.… Psalm 139:13-14 

Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them. Psalm 139:16 ESV

 

 

 

IMG_1393

 

**********************************************************************************************************************************************************

Today I am thankful for: 

* my doctor’s appointment went well

* my good health

* spending time with my son

* a quiet afternoon

* friends who give me support and encouragement

* ripe berries and sticky sweetness

* llamas loose in the front yard

* selfies of my dogs

* re-reading One Thousand Gifts, and my heart pouring out all over again

* meeting people where they are at

* mail in the mailbox

* love, that I get…and that I give

* God, who gifts me with every day

One thought on “The Gift Of Time

  1. What a blessing. Thanks for sharing. I don’t like going to the doctor. I go Thursday to my cardiologist for my 8 month follow up for my open heart surgery in 2011. I go to the VA so the doctor part doesn’t bother me, it’s the wait to see him. Ugh!

Leave a Reply

