Reminders From Him

This past week I received my two Christmas books in the mail, one Southern Living Christmas and the other Gooseberry Patch Christmas. Yes, they always come in June. They come six months early, so that those so inclined can begin working on their projects for the holidays without feeling rushed. Like that would happen with me. Ever.

 

Gooseberry

traditional-tree-lgraphic-gift-wrap-l

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I enjoy looking through the books with all their beautifully decorated pages. Everything looks so perfect. Perfectly decorated rooms, perfectly planned meals, perfectly wrapped gifts, crafts, and treats. Sigh. All this perfection……and, I feel so…..

Imperfect.

Inadequate.

Ordinary.

How many times do I feel that my good just isn’t good enough? That if I could only complete one more task, spruce up one more thing, make one more call, then everything would be okay, and my life might look like one of the 8×10 glossies in the books.

Oh, I need to lose weight, exercise more, have a house free of cat puke, and dog fur. I need a nicely mowed lawn, and I really should make more trips to the farmer’s market. I need to make time to read more books, spend less time on the computer, have meaningful conversations with my children, and have date nights with my husband.  I should try to style my hair in a cute new look, smile more, make my own cleaning products, keep track of the memories and learn how to relax.

 

IMG_1163

 

IMG_1206

 

 

 

IMG_0197

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I could go on and on. That is the kind of thing that goes on inside my brain….all the time. I admit it, I often spend so much time thinking about what “should be”, that I often times miss out on the “here and now”.

 

I know better, but I keep doing it anyway.

I count the moments, because I require the reminders.

Reminders from Him.

God wants me to be present in this moment. The one that is happening right now.

Otherwise, I will miss out on everything He has planned for me.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11 NIV

Leave a Reply

