Rest Is Crucial For The Soul

My friend, Bonnie Gray, just launched her first book, finding spiritual whitespace-awakening your soul to rest.

When reading last night I came across the quote, “My soul isn’t designed to be cluttered. It longs for space to taste beauty. To breathe. It’s always wanted what God intended for me. My soul was designed for spiritual rest: spiritual whitespace”. (p.31)  I highlighted this passage, and marked it with a big “Yes”!

The words from her book have confirmed the feelings that I have had for quite awhile. In a world filled with fast paced schedules, and never ending to do lists, a soul craves rest. It is a struggle for me, the one who doesn’t know how to relax. Life tends to clutter, and I find myself in a never ending cycle of trying to get it all done. How can I be what God intends for me, if I don’t take the time to rest?

Rest isn’t lazy. Rest isn’t unnecessary. Rest isn’t weak.

Rest is crucial for the soul.

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Matthew 11:28 NIV

Finding Spiritual Whitespace

Leave a Reply

