Time Spent Together Is Never Wasted

I received my COUNTRY magazine in the mail this weekend. As I browsed through the magazine, my eyes fell on an article about rediscovering the art of visiting, by Carole Christman Koch. I agreed with the author, that families and friends used to visit a lot more than they do now. I personally have many wonderful memories of Thursday night, family visits, to my grandparent’s house. I remember Tuesday nights were grocery shopping nights with my mom, aunt and little sister. There were many happy days spent with aunts, uncles and cousins. I would go to friends’ houses and they to mine. That kind of thing rarely happens anymore. Everyone grew up and went their own way. Life became complicated and busy. Schedules were tight and the calendar overflowed with activities.

And what the soul really needed, longed for, is rest.P1020495

Visiting used to be that way.

No real agenda. No fancy food or drinks.

Just good company.

Yesterday, my husband and I hosted our son’s graduation party at our house. I’ll be honest, it was a lot of work to get everything ready, and I definitely needed help with it all, but the visiting part was pure joy. Chairs on the deck, drinking sweet tea, and sharing life. One of our friends said, “We live so close…we will invite you over soon. This has been really nice.”

And he was right. It was nice connecting with others…and it is good for us all.

Time spent together is never wasted.

 

Leave a Reply

