Striving For More

Disability is defined as a physical or mental condition that limits a person’s movements, senses, or activities.         IMG_1297

It is considered a handicap or an impairment. Not typical.
Sometimes a person’s disability can be seen…and at other times it cannot.
There are challenges for those having a disability. Accepting ones limitations without accepting defeat. Living life without living less.
On the other hand, one can be perfectly healthy both physically and cognitively, but live a far greater disability, shown by ignorance.
No one should have to live in a box, only longing to be free.
Able bodied doesn’t mean ability, anymore than disabled body mean dis-ability.
People are so much more, and have so much to offer when given the opportunity.
And shouldn’t we all strive to see the person inside? See the whole, instead of the parts?
Yesterday, I went to a conference sponsored by Joni and Friends. As one who has worked in the special needs community for most of my life, I am no stranger to working with individuals that face challenges on a daily basis. I was mesmerized and energized by the speakers at this event, making a difference in their communities in real and tangible ways.
Striving for more.
The world is always better when we stop to help each other.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Striving For More

  1. Excellent post and thoughts. As I pursue training as a course instructor for our NAMI Gwinnett support group, I am so grateful that God has shown me an area of sharing with others to bless others. In all my years of teaching I have always been blessed far beyond all those in my classes. I want to re-blog this on FHG. Thank you so much for sharing. God bless you, my friend.

Leave a Reply

