Do Not Be Anxious About Anything

I remember reading a book, years ago, entitled Don’t Sweat The Small Stuff. This book talked about not getting stressed over stuff that in the big scheme of things, really isn’t all that important.

Sometimes easier said than done…at least in my world. Sigh…….

I tend to stress. I fret. I worry. I mull things over until my head hurts. I’ve even at times affected by health because of stress. There are mornings when I get up and half way through my morning routine realize that my shoulders are hiked up practically to my ears! I tell myself to take a deep breath and relax, as my shoulders loosen up ever so slightly.

God tells me in His word that I’m not going to add any time to my days by worrying. Stressing really is the thief of peace.

Honestly, I want to learn that lesson. I want to internalize it. I want to live it.

What am I really saying to God when I continue to worry and stress about the future, as well as the day to day?

“God, I know You are big, but not big enough”.

The hiss of fear wraps itself in my worry. The pain of stress weighs heavy.

God, forgive me.

But, Jesus who loves me so, whispers to my heart…..”You are mine. I bought you for a price. No matter what happens in this life, I am with you. I will never leave you. I will never forsake you. You are my redeemed. My child……..and I’ve got you covered. Once and for all.”

 

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. Philippians 4:6 

*****************************************************************

Today I am thankful for: 

* blazing pinks and purples in the morning sky

* sun peeking over the horizon

* waiting for a rainy day

* a slow, quiet Monday

* smiles

* new friends

* laughter

* reminiscing

* comfy t-shirt

* piles of laundry

* furry pets

* clucking chickens

* grass getting greener

* God who IS big enough

* Jesus who stands in the gap

 

IMG_1244

 

Leave a Reply

