I Remember…

Writing prompt: Remember

 

 

Tonight, my husband and I start our eighth season of GriefShare. We are facilitators of this group that reaches out to those that are grieving the loss of someone that they loved. Both my husband and I lost our first spouses to death, when we were only in our 30’s. No one really thinks about “until death do us part” on their wedding day. Those are just words that one repeats after the pastor…death is the farthest thing from one’s mind. Most of us live in ignorant bliss, and that is okay…until it happens to you.

My husband and I feel called to this particular ministry. Helping the hurting, holding a hand, touching a heart. Sometimes it isn’t easy, and even though it has been a decade + since the deaths of either of our spouses, we find ourselves remembering. For me, my former life seems almost surreal. My first husband has been gone for 13 1/2 years. Our son was 5 when his Daddy passed. This May he will graduate from high school. The river of time doesn’t stop for anyone.

Both Nancy and Kennis knew Jesus. We know where they are. To be honest, they are more alive right now than any of us that were left behind. We see dimly, and they now see face to face.

Christ understood facing death. He was born into this broken world, knowing that one day He would die…so that we could live. As the days lead up to Easter, we remember what Christ went through, how He sacrificed. It is because of this that we are able to know where our loved ones are at this very moment.

There is a shiny granite gravestone in a memorial garden off of Alcoa Highway in east Tennessee. On that stone is my husband’s name. Underneath his name is the scripture reference to John 11: 25, Jesus said, “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in me will live, even though he dies…”

On the journey to Easter I remember that death did not win. Jesus did not stay in the tomb. He was victorious, and because of this, those that trust in Him will live also. Amen.

IMG_0165

6 thoughts on “I Remember…

  1. Amen. Our church runs GriefShare, too, and although I haven’t attended, I’ve heard only good things about it. I can imagine the comfort of knowing your loved ones are with Jesus.

  2. Death did not win. Jesus was victorious. Beautiful, Dawn. Thank you.

    God bless you and your husband in GriefShare. Through your losses, God has given you a special, deeper empathy than others who haven’t experienced what you have.

  3. thank you for sharing, than you for using the pain you have walked through to minister to others — it shines with His glory!

  4. Pingback: Positive Vibes | It Just Dawned On Me

  5. Pingback: Birthdays & Celebrations and Life & Death | It Just Dawned On Me

Leave a Reply

