He Won’t Go Alone

I had opportunity last week to spend some one on one time with my 18 year old son. Lately, those moments have been few and far between, as life has a way of hurrying us along. The days turn into weeks and this mom is left with the sands of time streaming through her fingers.

While in the car, my son looked at me and said, “You know these next few months are the last months that you will see me on a consistent, regular basis. Soon I will be away at college, working, eventually on my own.” Words from an 18 year old excited as he looks to his future. Words that sear his mother’s heart. He is right, not much time left. Life is changing.

102_3232

102_4884

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

He is more man than boy. I remember when he was a young toddler imagining what he would look like at age 5. I recall being surprised when he turned 13, not knowing how that much time had passed. Now, as a young adult, I have a mixture of love and pride in seeing who he has become.

As his mom, I will always love him, but it is my responsibility to loosen my grip, as difficult as it is, and let him go.

But, he won’t go alone.

He is a child of the King, the One who loves him and knows him intimately. The One I can trust and believe when He says He will never leave my son nor forsake him. A mother’s love is strong, but the love of The Father is deeper and everlasting and nothing can separate us from His love. Not ever. No matter where life takes us.

This is true if one is 18 and just starting out, or a mother who is learning to let go.

38 And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow—not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love. 39 No power in the sky above or in the earth below—indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord.        Romans 8 NIV

And that is something to be thankful for…..

 

One thought on “He Won’t Go Alone

  1. Beautiful post! I know your momma’s heart as I have two sons who are now on their own. Letting go is so hard but knowing they are children of God and will never be alone is comforting. Coming to you today from Ann Voskamp’s link up. Blessings, Mary!

Leave a Reply

