What If The Eye Is Blind?

Today’s word prompt at Faith Barista is BEAUTY.

 

************************************************

People say that beauty is in the eye of the beholder…. but, what if the eye is blind? What if the beauty is looked over, not noticed, or neglected? Does beauty still shine if has been buried under all the dirt of the day to day?

Oh, God!

How many times do I look the other way not realizing that I am visually impaired? So many times I am blind to the beauty all around me.

I want to live with eyes wide open. Eyes that see the beauty, the good, the simple aesthetic in the daily grind.

He has made everything beautiful in its time. He has also set eternity in the human heart; yet no one can fathom what God has done from beginning to end. Ecclesiastes 3:11 NIV

IMG_0165

9 thoughts on “What If The Eye Is Blind?

  1. How can I believe in that which I do not see? * scratches head* There are many things the eyes cannot see, fingers can’t touch. But the heart, ahhh, it sees what the eyes do not. And it is from here… I believe, I know. * smiles*

  2. Thanks so much, Dawn, for this heartfelt reminder to open my eyes to the beauty around us. My counselor once talked about this. She said, “Look at the sun shine through that window. Isn’t that beautiful?”

  3. Hi Dawn,
    I completely understand. I think we are all guilty of this.I know that I am. The everyday things that I tend to look past. I am trying to slow down and savor these things more because life and time are so precious.

    I also wanted to say it’s nice to see a fellow Buckeye in the blogosphere 😉

    Have a blessed day!

  4. Your words remind me of what I was reading yesterday in Matthew 6:22-23:

    “The eye is the lamp of the body. So, if your eye is healthy, your whole body will be full of light,
    but if your eye is bad, your whole body will be full of darkness. If then the light in you is darkness, how great is the darkness!”

    I, too, need sharper vision and want to live with eyes with open. I know I miss so much because of my impairment. Beautiful post, Dawn.

  5. so very true that we often pass over the beauty in our haste to “live”, while truly missing out on living… love the picture you used as well-so gorgeous! 🙂

  6. Yes, this too has become my prayer. I so easily see the ugly things in my life and complaints come quickly to my lips. My prayer is to see beauty, to see God in all things and that I learn the response of giving thanks for even the tiniest revealed thing. Thanks for sharing your heart for Faith Jam.

Leave a Reply

