One On One

It is early and still dark outside. The street lights illuminate patches of sidewalk outside of the coffee shop. I’ve been enjoying the quiet for 5514745-una-taza-de-caf-de-chocolate-caliente-con-malvaviscos-en-la-parte-superior-descansando-sobre-la-alfoalmost an hour, drinking my mocha coffee while I surf the web and listen to the radio. My headphones allow me to be here in this space and be somewhere else all at the same time. Technology is amazing like that.

I am a keen observer of people, and so sitting at a table in the corner of the coffee shop is a prime location for such observing. Most people are in and out quickly, getting their coffees to go. Others, older individuals are regulars. These guys know the baristas by name and have inside jokes and smiles that they share. Reading newspapers, talking, watching TV, surfing the net, or just quietly sitting and thinking. We are all here together and yet we are each in our own world.

I wonder what these individuals plans are for today? Everyone goes about life, each time the bell above the door tinkles and the door closes, someone else is gone. Each left to start the day’s adventures. Each to make their mark on the world. Some will paint their corner of the world with vibrant splashes of color, while others walk quietly through the mundane.

Each face is unique and significant. Husbands, grandfathers, moms, sisters, daughters, sons, and friends. Each life touches another, intertwined together. I look at faces and I wonder what their stories are?

When God looks at us, what does He see? He sees our heart and our motives that our faces can sometimes hide. He knows both our pain and our joy. Nothing is hidden from Him. He is the Master Observer, but God is not satisfied with just being a casual observer.  He longs for relationship with each of us. Real. Personal.

Get to know Him. One on one.

But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The LORD does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.” 1 Samuel 16:7  NIV

3 thoughts on “One On One

  1. There are those who wonder, ‘ Does God believe in me’ ? And this is how my heart responds:
    How I see God/ Divinity, this way of thinking would be more of a human emotion, limitation. It could not, would not come from that which is omnipotent, omnipresent. Unconditional love, He is that. His most beautiful presence is patient when I’m stubborn and resistant. Understanding, when I’m having difficulties processing what I need to learn. Forgiving, always forgiving and teaching me through my many blunders… to forgive as I want to be forgiven. And cares for me so much so, that I’ve already been given what I need, all the while waiting, waiting, waiting… for me to notice, it is He that is all I really need.
    From a heart diligently seeking a clearer awareness of His presence, a dialog begins and does not end. Becoming fervent in our desire to be close, do we share those most precious secrets of our hearts, with Him. No special place or time, necessary. In turn, we hear, feel, see, in the most marvelous of ways… His love. This leaves me with a knowingness, I’m never alone; how wonderful is He. And it is within this oh so full heart, I want to give, give, give, what He so freely gives to me.
    We, are always at the top of His list, but is He at the top of ours. Perhaps the next time we contemplate even for a moment, ‘ Does God believe in me’, you might pause and wonder… do I believe in Him?

Leave a Reply

