Layer Up!

Honestly, I wonder if I would have been able to make it as a pioneer woman. A self sufficient homesteader… How did she make it during the winter, in a little cabin, in the bitter cold of the (at the time) west? I know Ohio is considered Mid-West now, but you know when one was leaving from the colonies on the east coast, Ohio really was west. Just sayin’. I’d probably take up quilting. Lots of quilts.

The weather this morning is cold. When the temp is below zero, and one’s breath freezes on her scarf that is wrapped snuggly across her face with only her eyes showing–appearing to look like a multi-colored knitted mummy….well, it is just cold, okay? I was off to the barn to feed our horse. I was feeling mildly cold under my many layers, but it was a lot better than sweating. I hate to sweat. That is why I am not a huge fan of the heat and humidity of the summer months.

We got snow all day yesterday, and I see that we are to get more heavy snow on Sunday. This will call for a store run for “the essentials”, such as hot chocolate and chips and dip. Anyone can survive on that for days. I have many friends  that think I am nuts for loving Winter. I would much rather be cold than hot. That is just a fact, Jack. I can always bundle up and get warm, but I can only take so much off when I get hot in the summer, well….and not get arrested.

Everyone stay warm and have a wonderful first week of the new year!

img_0211.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

