God Had Not Forgotten

A blended family. Favoritism. Half brothers that hated him.  IMG_0253

Dreams and foreshadowing.

Anger, resentment, jealousy…murderous thoughts, leading to a pit.

An empty cistern, and much emptier souls. Pits of despair. Regret.

Slavery. Prison. Interpretation.

In a foreign land, far away…with people that were not his own.

Did he ever wonder if God had forgotten him? Had the God of his fathers turned His back on him?

God had not forgotten Joseph.

Not in the pit. Not in a foreign land. Not in prison. Not when falsely accused.

Not as a leader, second only to Pharaoh himself.

Not ever.

God sent him ahead. To save his people.

But Joseph said to them (his brothers), “Don’t be afraid. Am I in the place of God? You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives…..” Genesis 50:19-20  NIV

****************************************************

Have you ever felt forgotten? Wondered why this thing was happening to you?

I know that I am, many times, short sighted. I cannot see the whole picture. I easily become frustrated and confused.

Why me?!

I want the plan laid out, not left out.

I want comfort, not confusion.

I need details, not doubt.

I stamp my feet, and shake my fist and demand an answer that I can understand.

But, if I could understand God’s plan, wouldn’t that make God small?  Wouldn’t that be putting God in a box? And if that is the case, He wouldn’t be much of a God would he? Do I really want that? Ultimately, I am thankful God is sovereign and in control and His plans are always perfect.

And God says to me….

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart……” Jeremiah 29:11-13 NIV

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “God Had Not Forgotten

  1. Great post. How many times I have wished for any hint from God about what was going to happen. But then God couldn’t be God.

Leave a Reply

