The Sweetest Harmony

Last week I was in Costa Rica, having fun and enjoying the tropical locale. Good conversation with great people. Fresh pineapple with sweetness that was addicting. Sitting in a chair on the beach, watching the ocean crash into the sand.The opportunity for me to enjoy…

English: Sunset over the Pacific Ocean, Tango ...

Blessed beyond words.

The scales tip wildly– me in an expensive vacation home, catered too, fed, given so much. They in houses that are necessary shelter, very little comfort, practical and plain.

My brothers and sisters. We are very different and yet so much the same.

And these things Lord, the opportunities given to me, blessings beyond imagination– am I here too for such a time as this?

What is my role, my responsibility? The challenge, the honor? This one life that I have been given. The minutes that make up the lifetime.

The ocean waves roll in, breaking hard, causing a foamy surf.

The sun shines on the Pacific water, as I contemplate time, and life, and purpose.

Made in Your image–these people. Me. All of us.

Loved by You, always by You. The vast ocean could not, cannot, contain your love…no, not the whole of the world can contain it. For it is your love that covers us all. No matter the color of our skin, the language that we speak, the differences of culture or custom.

And isn’t it my job, my responsibility to share? Not just the vastness of Your ocean with others but, the great depth of Your love?

And shouldn’t John 3:16 be the song that I hear in the crashing waves on this beach so far away?  The melody of the love song that pulls us all into sweet harmony with You.

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.  John 3:16-17 NIV

 

2 thoughts on “The Sweetest Harmony

  1. Hi Dawn, Sounds like an amazing trip. Yes, we have many blessings. It is important to remember them.

    Also, I love your beach pictures and the description of the trip. Wonderful. Patti

  2. What blessings, now wonderful memories, you can call to mind when you return to God’s country on your Ohio farm. I sense several more blog posts might surface in the future from your experience with God in that beautiful paradise.

Leave a Reply

