I Can Only Imagine

 

 

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.

2. Link back here and invite others to join in.

3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you

need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them

in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And

the heart of this community..

 

OK, are you ready? Please give me your best five minutes on:::

 

Imagine…

 

 

 

***************************************************************

 

The song blared from my car radio. The song was “I Can Only Imagine”, by  Mercy Me. The tears came into my eyes, I tried hard not to blink, for fear that once started, they would be difficult to stop.

 

“Will I stand in Your presence, or to my knees will I fall? Will I sing hallelujah, will I be able to speak at all? I can only imagine…….”

 

This song came out the year before my husband died. It became really popular the year he died. The  song was on the radio, the band members were interviewed and the words were memorized.

 

The truth is, at that time in my life, I could relate to that song in ways that most could not. I pictured my late husband kneeling before Jesus, utterly speechless in His presence.

 

I would not see my husband’s face again or hear the sound of his deep voice….not on this side of heaven.

 

But, there was comfort in the lyrics to this song, because I knew where my husband was. At that very moment and for all the moments to come.

 

He didn’t have to imagine anymore. Not then. Not now.

 

He knows.

 

English: Author: Joonga (I made it myself)

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “I Can Only Imagine

  1. Wow! I remember when that song came out. And how meaningful the lyrics were, especially thinking of loved ones who have passed. I can’t imagine what a tremendous loss you have experienced. It’s hard to be the one left to figure it all out. But this song is a beautiful reminder of the hope we have for us and those who have gone before us. God bless!

    Christy @ A Heartening Life
    http://www.ahearteninglife.com

  2. I also thought of that beautiful song but wanted to use the one from my Dad’s funeral. It is amazing how our minds went in the same direction though.

  3. Pingback: Five Minute Friday – Imagine | GROWTH ON THE JOURNEY

  4. Hi Dawn, I thought of the exact same song on the word Imagine. And I too was thinking about Kennis. I had, however, forgotten that came out the year he passed away.

    No wonder it held so much meaning. The song was a great comfort in our loss. Patti

  5. Dawn
    This touches my heart. I’m glad my post was pinged from yours so I could read this special heart-song post. Bless your heart my dear.
    I nearly lost my husband to meningitis 5 years. I came close to this same heart-song. I love that song. I can only imagine… And I certainly do.
    God bless you,
    Heather

  6. I remember that song too, and the power of its lyric. Looking forward to that day when we too no longer have to imagine, but we’ll be right there with Him. What a privilege to read your story here. Have a blessed weekend!

Leave a Reply

