I’m Blaming Hormones…Because I Can

For those of you that read my blog regularly, you know that yesterday was the pits for me. I’m happy to say, today has been much better. I really need to credit my husband. Now, he probably would not fully appreciate my undying affection splayed out all over the internet…but, that is not going to stop me. After all, day in and day out we hear all the hard, gritty stuff of life and the good stuff doesn’t get talked about as much. Today I am going to counter balance yesterday’s grumpy moodiness with today’s happier, more uplifting note.

First things first. I love my husband. I really do. He’s not perfect, because Lord knows if he were, he would not be with me! I am not perfect, not even close. My husband does balance me. I was swimming around in my moody muck last night, threatening sack cloth and ashes, and loud wailing. It was not pretty. He smiled at me and said something to the effect of “it’s not that bad”. I momentarily thought of throwing a flip flop at him….but, I chose the higher moral ground and decided that assault by flip flop is NOT what a loving wife would do. So, instead I listened to him. He remained calm during my emotional thunderstorm. It made me love him even more. Then he said, “I think we need to go out”. I agreed. We had a nice dinner and an even better conversation. Nothing like Mexican food to calm the inner beast, or the psychotic wife. Just saying.

He could have reacted differently to my bad mood. I wouldn’t have blamed him. Well…..okay, I might have blamed him because that was the frame of mind I was in, but he ignored the mess he married and made the choice to love me despite my flaws. He is really good that way and I sure do appreciate that about him.

Now, there will be days when I get to return the favor…. days when he is having it rough. We all ride this roller coaster of life with its ups and downs, and we are no exception. My mom always used to say, “Just remember, this too shall pass.” I think my husband and my mom must have been cut from the same cloth…..and lucky them, they both get to deal with me:)

Seriously, I’m not that horrible. Most of the time.

I’m blaming hormones…because I’m a woman, and I can.                                                    wedding

Two are better than one,
    because they have a good return for their labor:
10 If either of them falls down,
    one can help the other up.
But pity anyone who falls
    and has no one to help them up.
11 Also, if two lie down together, they will keep warm.
    But how can one keep warm alone?
12 Though one may be overpowered,
    two can defend themselves.
A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.   —Ecclesiastes 4

 

One thought on “I’m Blaming Hormones…Because I Can

  1. Yes, your husband sounds like the wonderful man you describe. I think Marie would say I’d respond in a similar way to her hormonal highjinks. You girls are so lucky to have hormones to fall back on. We don’t have anything like that except our chronic immaturity. :>) I said I would not take a sabbatical from you. I’m reading occasionally and commenting on your stuff when I feel led. Have a great summer. Any photos of the Ohio countryside would be awesome blessings during my sabbatical. Have a great summer.

Leave a Reply

