Love Often Requires Sacrifice

The dust…everywhere the dust… Cleaning seems futile. Why do this?

English: Dust bunny Deutsch: Wollmaus

I get tired of cleaning up messes that I didn’t make.

I’m left wondering when “I forgot” or “I’ll do it later” ceases to be an acceptable excuse?

Feelings well up in me, of being under-appreciated or not truly heard.

It is easy to allow the day to day to feel like an obligation instead of a ministry of love.

These moments that cause me to careen back and forth…feeling sick with resentment.

The reigns of control bite deep into my hands.

I gasp the pain.

The hole in the delicate fabric of this life, rips.

I clearly hear the sound. It screams, ugly.

The words, whispered from the deceiver,  prick my ear.

Weariness. Anger. Resentment.

A sharp tongue, and an even sharper heart. Fissures of frustration allow the love to ooze out, leaving empty.

I leak the sin…

And then, in the midst of those sly whispers, I hear even more strongly, the Word.

Truth, speaks.

It pierces through this cracked heart of mine. It penetrates deeply to my very spirit

Love often requires sacrifice.
It is what Christ asks of me.
Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. Ephesians 4:2 NIV

Related articles

2 thoughts on “Love Often Requires Sacrifice

  1. I’ve been in that place, sister. One time when I was cleaning the gunk from the topside of my kitchen cabinets I grumbled, “I don’t remember signing up for this!” No, I didn’t. But I needed that gunky job to teach me a similar lesson — that there is glory for God in even the mundane and humbling circumstances, I have have the courage, and humility, to act out the truth I claim to believe.

  2. You are such an expressive writer. And you convey your emotions so easily and freely and I can know immediately what’s going on with you. You have such an expressive vocabulary and your metaphors embellish your words on the page. Thank you for sharing your heart. BTW I absolutely LOVED your heading picture. Once more, I can see in my minds eye across a cold, barren, Iowa countryside in winter. I love it. Thank you, Dawn. God bless.

Leave a Reply

