He Is The One

The religious leaders of the day were appalled. They were seething with rage against this man that dared to speak such words.  102_3448
Blasphemer! Liar! Stone Him!

Jesus stood before these men and others who had gathered to hear Him speak.

54 Jesus replied, “If I glorify myself, my glory means nothing. My Father, whom you claim as your God, is the one who glorifies me. 55 Though you do not know him, I know him. If I said I did not, I would be a liar like you, but I do know him and obey his word. 56 Your father Abraham rejoiced at the thought of seeing my day; he saw it and was glad.”

57 “You are not yet fifty years old,” they said to him, “and you have seen Abraham!”

58 “Very truly I tell you,” Jesus answered, “before Abraham was born, I am!” 59 At this, they picked up stones to stone him, but Jesus hid himself, slipping away from the temple grounds.  John 8:54-59 NIV

Jesus, who is God, stood before them, yet they didn’t see Him. Not really.

Jesus was referring to what God had said to Moses. He knew the religious leaders of the day would get that reference.

Jesus was letting them know that He was One with God the Father.

God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM. This is what you are to say to the Israelites: ‘I AM has sent me to you.'” Exodus 3:14 NIV

Eternal.

Alpha and Omega.

Ancient of Days.

The Trinity

I AM

********************************************************************8

Today I am thankful for:

* whipping wind

* history, to know where we’ve been

* books that open my eyes

* Bible study that makes me think

* Scripture that comes alive

* awestruck

* highlighted verses in my Bible

* finished chores

* learning to slow down

* for the opportunity to work

* streaming morning sunlight, splashed out on the kitchen floor

* the distant howling of neighbor’s dog caught on the winter wind

* the good morning neighing and clucking and barking and meowing

* warm hoodie

* fresh eggs

* family emails

* good health

* Jesus, who was, and is, and is yet to come…






3 thoughts on “He Is The One

  1. Dawn, Wonderful thoughts. Great thought provoking comments. Thank you for sharing. Sometimes I ponder how awed and confused and conflicted many of the Jews who rejected Jesus must have felt in their hearts about the things Jesus was teaching them. I wonder if any of them abandon their hearts to “go along with the crowd” or maybe remained in a state of doubt and fear that their people were betraying the real Messiah. Do you think any of them really believed in their hearts that Jesus was the Messiah, but feared what would happen to them if they spoke up or opposed their “religious” leaders? I wonder.

    • Steven,
      I have often wondered the same thing. I am sure that there was a lot of conflict in people’s souls. They saw with their own eyes the miracles, heard Jesus teaching, saw how He changed lives….and yet, they were waiting for a GREAT MESSIAH…not a neighbor, a friend, a teacher. How was He going to save the Jewish people? How could this be who had been prophesied?….. I think this particular scripture is very interesting because the very religious leaders of this day, who understood the words of prophesy….still could not see Jesus for who He was. Jesus was (and is) incredibly long suffering. I’m sure the human part of Him wanted to slap them all on the forehead. Blind, blind people….you have eyes but, you don’t see!
      I am thankful for the New Testament…which the people of that time did not have.

Leave a Reply

