Made For More…

“We are not human beings having a spiritual experience; we are spiritual beings having a human experience.” — Jesuit Priest

I need to remember this…

C. S. Lewis' house (The Kilns)

C. S. Lewis’ house (The Kilns) (Photo credit: MikeBlyth)

This journey, can seem so long on some days and painfully short on others.

I’m reminded, once again, that I am just passing through. This place is not my forever home. I was made for more than this world is able to give me.

When my heart overflows with gratitude…

When I feel the arms of my children around me…

When I gently kiss my husband…

When I receive words of encouragement…

When the music takes me to another place…

When the sunrise is so brilliant that I cannot imagine more beautiful colors….

I realize as much as I enjoy these things—they don’t even begin to scratch the surface of what is to come.

“If we find ourselves with a desire that nothing in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that we were made for another world.” C.S. Lewis

“…but just as it is written, “Things which eye has not seen and ear has not heard, And [which] have not entered the heart of man, all that God has prepared for those who love Him.”  1 Corinthians 2:9

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Made For More…

  1. Dawn, this post reminds me of this song. I could not find the version we used to sing in our huge choir in Montgomery, Alabama. This is the best rendition I could find. I thought you might either remember it or enjoy it. I don’t know how much Southern Gospel you get up there in the Midwest, but down here in God’s country it’s always been a Gospel standard. Hope you enjoy it. Thanks for reminding me.

    • Steven,
      Loved the song! Don’t forget that I mentioned that I lived in east Tennessee for 22 years. I know a thing or two about good ol’ southern gospel. Even when I was growing up in Maryland, I had family that LOVED southern gospel. I will always have fond memories of the South, but I have to say the Mid-West is God’s country too!

Leave a Reply

