Quiet Time

The Gypsy Mama

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

Oh and Ahem, if you would take pity and turn off comment verification, it would make leaving some love on your post that much easier for folks!

OK, are you ready? Please give us your best five minutes on:

Quiet…

Quiet. Something I don’t get enough of. I wish I had more. I’m the type that enjoys quiet. I’m annoyed when the TV is too loud, or the kids are playing video games so loud that it sounds like we are smack dab in the middle of a battle field. UGH. The dog barks at 2am and I can’t get him to be quiet and I just want to sleep. I just made it through a political season in the swing state of Ohio, when the phone was ringing off the hook because everyone wanted my vote. DOUBLE UGH.

When it is so noisy, I can’t think. It makes me anxious and stressed. I long for quiet. Real quiet. Some people are “afraid” of the quiet, it makes them nervous. I am not one of those people. When the world is pulling at me, and the noise of life threatens to take over….I need to get away.

One of my favorite things to do is stand out in the yard at night. Yes, you read that correctly. I live in the country. I stare up at the stars in the sky. They are crystal clear out here, away from the city lights. It is peaceful and calm. Soothing. It renews me. The stillness, the quiet, the beauty….I am in awe. Quiet time with God. Just us.

I need more quiet time in my life. Sigh.

Twitter Quiet Time

Twitter Quiet Time (Photo credit: Scott Beale)

4 thoughts on “Quiet Time

  1. Oh I love being in the country and seeing the stars- it’s the best! Makes you realize what a tiny piece you are in the big puzzle of the world. That’s a great place to enjoy quiet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

