Measuring Strength

I know…I know…I said that I would start doing the travel blog on Tuesdays. I will. I promise. Just not today. The reason, not today, is because I wanted to write about something that I read yesterday.

English: i think no need words

For Christmas, my mom gave me a Sarah Young daily, flip, calendar/devotion book. Sarah’s words struck me yesterday. You know how on some days you will be be bopping along and BLAM! You see something or hear something or read something and feel like it was meant just for you.

“Welcome challenging times as opportunities to trust Me……..When the path before you is dotted with difficulties, beware of measuring your strength against those challenges.” –Sarah Young

Um…..I don’t know about you, but I have a bad habit of doing just that. I am so busted. I’m trying to change. In the past I’ve had a tendency to look at all the things I need to do, all the mountains I have to climb, all the valleys I have to walk. I would look…..and get overwhelmed.

That is just exactly what I was doing. Measuring my obstacles by my own strength…instead of by the strength of the One who knows no limits.

This is what the Lord says…. When I came why was there no one? When I called, why was there no one to answer? Was my arm too short to ransom you? Do I lack the strength to rescue you?  (Isaiah 50:2)  The Lord said something similar to Moses in Numbers 11:23. The Lord answered Moses ” Is the Lord’s arm too short? You will now see whether or not what I say will come true for you.”   In both of these verses, God seems put out by his people. They whined to God, and yet did not trust Him.  He questions them. Don’t you think I can do this? Don’t you think I am strong enough to handle all things?

Those people of ancient times really weren’t all that different than us. How many times have I uttered, “This is impossible” ,”I can’t do this, God!” ,”I’m scared”, or a plethora of other similar statements?

God wants me to trust Him. He wants me to walk closely with Him. Rely on Him. Believe Him. And to understand this…

“My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness.”  2 Corinthians 13:4 NIV

Amen.

One thought on “Measuring Strength

Leave a Reply

