Driving Down County Road 12

25 May

Today, I was on my way to the house of one of my home instructed students. The sun was shining and the air was warm. I had the windows down in the van. It was one of those glorious days.

No traffic, and the only time I had to stop was for a deer. She was standing perfectly still, the only thing giving her away was the slight twitch of her ear. We locked eyes, she and I. She was just as interested in me, as I was in her. Then the moment was gone. She turned and sprang into the air. The only sight left was that of her white tail as she ran off. A similar experience happened the other night with a fox. Beautiful. Just beautiful.

I meandered on down the road and slowed down to watch a heard of Holsteins gathered around a feeding trough. Their black and white swaying back and forth, trying to get to lunch. I smiled at the sight of them.

The fields dotted with farms for as far as the eye could see. I noticed the carefully plowed rows, and the farmers in their tractors, baling hay. The big, round hay bales looked like rural art…and I appreciated the view.

As I rounded a bend in the road, the sun hit the silver topped silo, and nearly blinded me with the brilliance. Silos…utilitarian towers of rural America.

All is art, and beauty…when one trains the eyes to really see. Even the simple can become profound.

Have you ever had days when you were so happy, that the feeling just bubbled up inside? Threatening to spill out all over the place? It’s that moment when you realize….really, realize…..that you are blessed.

Enjoying my Saturday, in my little piece of rural America……..

I wish the best for you, my friends. May you realize your blessings today.

Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the Lord Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that there will not be room enough to store it.  Malachi 3:10 NIV

************************************

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 977 other followers

