There Are Always Things To Be Thankful For…

There are always things to be thankful for…

I continue to learn this truth–sometimes with a joyous smile on my face and unfortunately at other times, with my lips tightly pursed.

1,000 Gifts

1,000 Gifts (Photo credit: LearningLark)

Thanksgiving is a discipline and as with all discipline, sometimes it can sting. I’ll be honest–there are days when I cross my arms and the only words my mouth can form are dark and griping words. My vision is blurred by the want(s)…and my thoughts dwell on my lacking. There is frustration with the mundane, the routine, the daily occurrences that leave me frustrated with the ordinary. Complaining is so much easier. It seems more normal…all too often it is.

A little over a year ago, I found Ann Voskamp’s book, One Thousand Gifts. Her grace filled words set me on a journey. A journey to learn true thankfulness. The Lord used her poetic prose to stir me. The book left me with a desire to discipline myself to be grateful. To give thanksgiving to my Heavenly Father for everything.

Is this journey easy? Do I still struggle. Of course! I am human and my heart’s desire does battle with my strong, stubborn will. And yet, I move forward…inching ever closer to my God who has blessed me beyond what I ever could have imagined on my own.

He didn’t have to. Give me gifts, I mean.  No where does it state that God owes me. He doesn’t.  He owns all things, so anything He gives is a gift, right? Isn’t that so?  I would not take one more breath of air, if it weren’t in His plan. The sun would not rise tomorrow if not for His command.

And before you think that I can’t relate, or I don’t “get” pain or struggle–and where, by the way, is the blessing in that??? Let me say I have struggled…and continue to do so…Life is not easy, not for any of us.

Thanksgiving is not about ease, not about fancy clothes, big houses, or perfect families. That life would be a fairy tale. For those of us that live in reality, thankfulness is a choice. I choose to give thanks to the One most deserving.

Always giving thanks to God the Father for everything, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.    Ephesians 5:20 NIV

And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.    Colossians 3:17 NIV

****************************************

Thankful…always thankful

* a husband who is committed to me, even when I act unlovable

* beautiful music that feeds the soul

* storm clouds that roll across the sky

* fuzzy springtime chicks

* kisses left on scruffy boy-man faces

* beautiful locks of daughters hair

* a chance to practice having a servants heart

* my mom’s encouraging words

* blended family–and knowing, there is indeed life after a death

* old friends

* new friends

* quiet stillness

* each breath I take

* walks around the property

* a beautiful new necklace that reminds me I’m chosen (2 Thessalonians 2:13)

* daily provision

* journaling  my life

* good health

* promises kept

* shelter from life’s storms

* hope…always, hope!

2 thoughts on “There Are Always Things To Be Thankful For…

  1. We should all join you in list-making. I think it would reveal much. Probably that all of us are blessed beyond belief… but still, how easy it is to focus on…

    What a Savior! Thanks and God bless.

Leave a Reply

