Heart Healing

Genähte Wunde am Rücken, vier Stiche. (sewed w...

Today ladies are writing about A heart healing moment, at Faith Barista.

Words cut deep, and leave a gaping wound. Over time the wound heals…leaving behind an invisible scar. Along the way, more words and the wound is opened again. It is ugly and it hurts. The pain oozes out and runs down through the years. Words can change people, for better or for worse.

I still remember the words.

I was ten years old, and spending the day at a classmate’s house. She was one of my best friends in elementary school. We were playing hide and seek in her family’s two story farm house. I was hiding in the sitting area, next to the piano. It was a good place, and I could hear my friend looking for me. Unfortunately, I also heard her teenage brother come into the kitchen and announce, “You should be able to find her, she’s big enough that she can’t hide behind anything.” Tears sprang to my eyes, a sob caught in my throat….but, I didn’t make a sound. I stayed there. Hidden. Not knowing what to do. Not wanting to be seen. My friend eventually found me. I never told her what I had over heard. I kept it inside.

And haven’t we all been there? Whether it is a weight issue, or skin issue, or your chest is flat, and your nose is big….maybe your ears stick out, or you stuttered as a kid. Maybe you had a difficult time learning to read and you thought you were stupid. Or maybe your pain was never seen, at the hands of a drunk, or  putdowns from a parent who didn’t know how to show love. As adults, the words can sting and cut just as deep. Words can be harsh, and the scars left behind can crisscross a soul.

Years later I looked back at pictures of that time in my life, and the truth is, I wasn’t big. I was the size of an average fifth grader. Her brother was tall and super skinny, with frizzy hair and his face was broke out. He probably was dealing with issues of his own. I can look back and see that event for what it actually was, but it still hurt. I carried the scars of that with me for a very long time. Those thoughtless words obviously had a profound effect on me, if I’m still able to recall them after thirty-three years.

It was May of that same year, and I was getting ready to turn eleven. It was then that I gave my life to Christ. Even at that young age, I knew I needed Him. I knew I could trust Him. I understood grace and salvation, as much as a ten year old is able to comprehend. I understood that Jesus loves me, was not just a song, but the truth. I got it, that I could trust my heart with Him. I knew that He would never hurt me.

This passage from the Bible has had a deep and long lasting effect on me.

13 For you created my inmost being;
   you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
   your works are wonderful,
   I know that full well. Psalm 139  NIV

These words make my heart sing.

I was WONDERFULLY made. God told me so…..and I can take Him at His word.

Always.

2 thoughts on “Heart Healing

  1. Hi Dawn, thank you for your message I’m glad I found your pingback, strange but it was in my Spam and I did not get a message to moderate but I do have a hacker so can’t be sure if it’s your problem or mine but check your settings just in case.

    Sticks and stones will break my bones but names will never hurt me, but they do if we believe them, problem is as children we do not have a good spam filter and they do hurt but Satan also deceives us as Adults this is why we need to ask for God’s wisdom and not Trust our own understanding or someone else’s, unless they agree with God’s.

    Thank you for your message Dawn

Leave a Reply

