It’s Always About The Relationship

23 Feb
Jesus

At Faith Barista, Bonnie asked  us to…..“Share one thing that attracts you to Jesus.”

(One thing, Bonnie? Just one? Do you realize how difficult that is?)

*********************************************************************

The one thing. The ultimate thing. Salvation that brings…..RELATION.

Relationship with Jesus Christ, not for what He can give me, but for who He is.

Here, in this life, I am limited.

Limited by time and space.

Limited by the physical. Limited in thought.

He is not.

The fact that I, blotted by my own sin, can have this relationship with Christ

still amazes me. Truly. Utterly. Amazes me.

I can never “repay” Jesus for His sacrifice on my behalf.

Lost. Alone. Dying.

Unable to save myself…because I, yes I, was the problem.

Sin, my sin,

not sin as a whole, not I’m not as bad as the other guy, not “hey, cut me a break, I made a mistake”.

Pure darkness. Soul secrets. Selfish. Rebellious. Enemy of God.

That was me.

God loved me so much, even in that horrible state. Even when my very actions screamed, “I don’t WANT you!”

Born into my guilt….. and unable to save my own life.

Restless. Careless. Hopeless.

He came. He came for me. He mended the relationship that was broken, what sin had destroyed.

When the Heavenly Father looks at me now….He no longer sees me as I was. He now sees me as I am.

A sinner saved by grace.

Jesus said, “Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing.” Luke 23:24 NIV

His Son, Jesus, stands in front of me…so that when God looks at me, He sees the reflection of His perfect and blameless Son.

It’s relationship. It’s always about relationship. There is nothing greater….and nothing I am more grateful for.

****************************************************************************

One of my favorite songs is by Fernando Ortega—-Just Give Me Jesus.  The song is very simple, but couldn’t do a better job of describing my heart.

In the morning, when I rise
In the morning, when I rise
In the morning, when I rise, give me Jesus

When I am alone
When I am alone
When I am alone, give me Jesus

When I come to die
When I come to die
When I come to die, give me Jesus

Give me Jesus,
Give me Jesus,
You can have all this world,
You can have all this world,
You can have all this world,
But give me Jesus

3 Responses to “It’s Always About The Relationship”

  1. Steven Sawyer February 23, 2012 at 11:40 am #

    Dawn,
    A beautiful truth about the one most precious blessing we have in Christ, our relationship with Him. And exquisitely written. Sometimes I sit in awe of how incredible it is that Jesus Christ, the Holy Son of God desires, longs for, an intimate and personal relationship with me.
    Could I have your permission to reblog this on my blog and include a link back to your site?
    I would like to grab a cup of joe one morning and chat with you. You have a remarkable story. Also, your home (rural Ohio) and some of your stories about it remind me with heart-felt fondness of growing up in rural Iowa. I miss that country so much. Been in the South for decades, in the Atlanta area for 12 years. We’re retired now and we won’t ever go back, except on short visits. Thank you again for all your blogs. I read you with anticipation of blessings almost every day. And you never disappoint me.

    • gibsongirl247 February 23, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

      Steven, You are so kind. Yes, you can reblog. Thank you so much!
      I know about the south:) I lived in Knoxville, TN. for 22 years. (from a freshman in college until I was 41!) I do love the south. The Atlanta area is beautiful, been there several times. Yes, I’d love to chat over coffee, too. I’ve never been to Iowa, but I want to go some day. I’d also like to visit the Dakotas. My dream is to travel to all 50 states. What a fun time that would be!

  2. Angie in Guernsey February 26, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    ‘Give me Jesus’ – YES!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 974 other followers

