My Winter Neighbors

English: Canada Geese landing on water

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I stared out across the back field, the wind stinging my cheeks and causing my eyes to water. I continued to stand, as if rooted to the spot. I heard the faint honking of the Canada geese, growing louder as they drew closer. The wind picked up and they beat their wings to stay on track. Together. It’s as if they knew that they needed each other to make it through the wind.

Time st00d still…for one brief moment. The wind quieted and the air was perfectly still. I looked up and saw the geese flying low. In the stillness I heard them slowing down. Their wings beat against the air to slow their flight. They were getting ready to land in the lake across the road, the winter lake that used to be a cornfield this past summer. I was mesmerized by the beauty. The leader of the group honked loudly and the rest follow suit.

I continued to watch as they glided into the water with a splash, that I heard with crystal clarity. For that brief, few seconds, I was reminded to slow down, opening my eyes to what was going on around me. Such a simple thing of nature, left a huge impact on me. I was the audience for this group of winter geese, eagerly watching their daring descent into the frigid water. I saw them. Really, saw them.

And such a simple thing, brought me joy.

*******************************************

Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?      Matthew 6:26  NIV

Leave a Reply

