In Real Life…

Two friends

Today, at Faith Barista we are talking about “real life” community…

Making friends, no matter what the age, can be a little scary.

We all want friends, but worry that no one will want us.

If someone really knew me. Would they still want the real me?

I have been fortunate over the years to have friends that have challenged me, and changed me…

supported me and sustained me.

But, in the beginning, it’s still scary.

Now, I’ve found a new community through the ladies at (in)Courage. No, I’ve never met them in person.

I’ve met them through their blogs…words from the heart…spoken through a keyboard.

I’d have some that would tell me that friendship can’t be real, if not face to face.

I’d say real is in the sharing and caring that comes from stories told. Walls broken down. Smiles that are felt.

It’s real.

The great thing about community is that the world doesn’t seem so big,

and I don’t feel so small.

Sharing.

I might never meet some of my friends face to face. Faces of all ages and colors.

That is okay.

We’ve already met heart to heart.

 

5 thoughts on “In Real Life…

  1. Ha can’t believe you posted this…….just last week I started “hanging out” at the (in)Courage site….just discovered it. I haven’t had a ton of time to really check it out, but I have been trying to stop back in on occasion this week. 🙂

  2. I’m glad you round )in)courage, too. I did too this past year! I have a post coming up there this month, and I’m so excited about that. I’ve been hurt by individuals in my community before and I was gun-shy, I think that’s what keeps so many people isolated. Being able to connect on a heart-level where other aspects aren’t factored in is one of the benefits of finding community and support through places like (in)courage. Of course, we need a balance of real-life friends, too, but it can all work together to create safe places for our hearts to land.

  3. Hi Dawn!
    I’ve just joined Faith Barista’s link up.
    I can absolutely relate to what you’ve written about here. As a military wife, I have to move A LOT and as a result of that I end up having to start over in the friend department quite often. It’s tough, but worth the effort it takes to find that great group of people that make you shine!

  4. I feel the same way about the beautiful women God has brought my way through blogging. Some of which I consider more of a friend than my IRL friends. And I LOVE (in)Courage!

  5. Oh yes: “We all want friends, but worry that no one will want us.” And I agree with this, too: “I might never meet some of my friends face to face. Faces of all ages and colors. That is okay. We’ve already met heart to heart.” It’s amazing the forms community can take!

Leave a Reply

