It Is A Reminder

Español: Pote de barro para guardar la miel En...

The small clay pot sits on my dresser.

I see it, most days.

It is very plain to look at. Not painted. Not intricate.

It is a reminder.

I received that simple piece of art from a man who inscribed the verse reference, Mark 14:36, into the bottom of it.

 Abba, Father,” he said, “everything is possible for you. Take this cup from me. Yet not what I will, but what you will.”

My breath catches as I contemplate this.

Knowing what lay ahead… and yet, committing Himself to God‘s plan.

Abba, Father. Everything is possible for you.

He trusted in God’s plan.

He wanted God’s will done. Above all else.

Jesus words settle into my own heart…

Wretched, that is what I am. Selfish. Arrogant. Unforgiving.

My darkness is real, and it overwhelms me sometimes.

I cry out…

I want to be different…

My very nature brings me to my knees,

before my Heavenly Father.

Abba! Father!

Everything is possible for You!

Even my dark heart can be transformed

and made into something new…

in Your hands.

May Your will be done.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

