Open My Eyes

Frost on window

I’m really fighting it this morning.

Dissatisfaction is rearing its ugly head.

I am not happy this Monday morning,

because my eyes are focused on the lacking.

The rips in the fabric of life…

nothing is good enough.

Frustration sets in.

I see the dirt and crumbs on the floor.

I’m tired of seeing junk laying all over the place.

I snap at my son, doing his algebra.

I grump because my daughter does not get out of bed on time.

I need to clean off my office desk.

The laundry basket is overflowing.

And I am in a mood.

I want to be better.

But, I can’t.

Or I won’t.

Whatever it is…it’s ugly.

God, help me to focus on You.

Breathe.

Get perspective.

“Rejoice in the Lord always Philippians 4:4

Always…not just when I “feel” like it.

Left to my own devices, I might not feel like it on most days.

It’s a discipline.

It’s in the discipline that I can glimpse the glory.

Even on not so great days.

I can’t grumble and gripe when I’m thanking Him.

“Open the eyes of my heart, Lord.

Open the eyes of my heart.

I want to see You. I want to see You.”

Yes, Lord.

Open the eyes of my heart.

I do want to see You.

*************************

*enough milk in the fridge for breakfast

*children that are healthy

*a warm house while the cold winter wind is howling

*my husband’s job

*getting things in order

*an email from a friend

*cinnamon rolls for breakfast

*having a working washer and dryer in the house

*a better attitude

There are always things to be thankful for…I just needed

to open my eyes.

4 thoughts on “Open My Eyes

  1. Visiting from Ann’s blog. Thank you for your beautifully honest post! We all have moments/days like that and yet how wonderful to still see the blessings in the midst of the chaos!
    Joanne xo

Leave a Reply

