Face To Face

Coming home……

The place where I feel safe, accepted, loved.

Morning View From My Front Porch

Traveling and going on trips is always fun,

but there is something comforting about coming home.

*

I love the house that my husband and I built and moved into in 2009.

Our home in rural America.

Open spaces. Beautiful sky.

There is much to enjoy about our new setting.

I am thankful. Deeply thankful.

*

Jesus talked about home.

A permanent home…one that moths and rust cannot destroy.

But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. Matthew 6:20 NIV

The truth is, as much as I love my house and all the stuff I have in it…

It’s temporary. It won’t last.

*

I am a lover of the past. I haunt antiques stores and “junk” shops.

I pour over antique pictures of other people’s families.

I’m fascinated to learn of family history. The stories enchant me.

And yet….

Things don’t last. Possessions get sold at yard sales, they break, they rust,

parts fall off, and switches break. Wiring gets old and floors need refinished.

Strangers pick over family heirlooms. Names are forgotten.

*

But, Jesus said, “In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you.”                   John 14:2 NIV

I can not even begin to fathom what it will be like to open the door of that place.

To walk in.

To meet Him face to face,

and to finally know home.

4 thoughts on “Face To Face

  1. ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL! I was born and raised in the heartland of America, the Midwest. I may never get back there, although I would love to. Reading your blog is such an inspiration to me. Many times you take me back to Shenandoah, Iowa as well as my aunt and uncle’s farm in rural Northwest Missouri. Your pictures are breathtaking and capture the flavor of my homeland. I am grateful that God has gifted you with writing. And I’m grateful that your writing about Thank you.

  2. Hello,

    Beautiful post! Truly, I am living to live again! I received a ping back from your blog. We have a few things in common, other than blogging. Like you, I love antiques! I love roaming and rummaging through antique stores, and I enjoyed an award-winning teaching career. My students were my babies! I loved them, as though they were my very own children! Unfortunately, I had to resign very prematurely because of illness!

    I’m glad I found your blog, and I will visit again. May the Lord bless you richly!

    Paulette

  3. Dawn,
    By the way, like you, I can’t wait to get to heaven and see if my mansion will look anything like my hometown. I know it will be much better, but it’s fun to imagine He would let me abide with Him in a place like that again.

Leave a Reply

