Thanks, George Bailey!

Iconic screen shot from the movie It's a Wonde...

God speaks in mysterious ways.

Sometimes He speaks to me in ways that are unexpected, other times as a gentle reminder of something I already knew.

I enjoy watching classic movies. I especially like the old black and whites. There is just something about them.

Each Christmas season, I watch movies with my family. While decorating the tree, we always enjoy watching, It’s A Wonderful Life. It has become a family tradition.

This movie hit the big screen in 1946. It wasn’t a smash at the box office, even though actor, Jimmy Stewart, and director, Frank Capra, hailed it as their favorite movie to make. Now, I will be the first to say, It’s A Wonderful Life is a heart warming story, but not biblically accurate. Maybe there is an angel named Clarence, but he didn’t have to earn his wings. Even though scripture reminds us to entertain strangers because they could be angels…

(Do not forget to entertain strangers, for by so doing some people have entertained angels without knowing it. Hebrews 13:2 NIV)

we don’t have to wonder every time we hear a bell ring.

And yet… even though I’ve seen this movie more times than I can count… I was reminded of something this year.

God reminded me that George Bailey was important. That guy knew his fair share of rough patches, and disappointments. God saw him. God sees each of us. I am important to God. He cares about me and better yet, He loves me. Even when life is rough and I feel depressed or anxious about situations, God is there. He never leaves.

George figured out that it is a wonderful life.

This Christmas, while sitting in my living room, I was reminded of it too.

This is the day the LORD has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalms 118:24

**********************************************
FaithBarista_Christmas_JamBadge

3 thoughts on “Thanks, George Bailey!

  1. I think its great that a favorite, much watched movie can still remind us anew of things we know. I have had a similar experience this year with A Christmas Carol.

Leave a Reply

