Dance In The Snow

English: 4 paper snowflakes cut out as an example

“We are always getting ready to live, but never living”Ralph Waldo Emerson  (and evidently, Churchill quoted this also)

I spent some of my afternoon cutting out paper snowflakes. It is snowing (for real) outside. I’ve been listening to favorite Christmas music on Pandora. It’s been a quiet day and I have enjoyed it entirely. It’s been good.

Tonight the family will be going to a local “Country Christmas” where we will be witness to a live nativity. Hearing the Christmas story of the birth of the Messiah. The story that never grows old.

Memories.

Living.

Isn’t that what each of us is called to do?

To live each day and enjoy the moments. Right where we are at.

The moments are gone all too soon. How many times do I say, ” I’ll do that later” or make some other excuse?

Stop. Laugh. Enjoy.

Catch snowflakes on my tongue. Laugh until I cry. Take pictures of the kids at this very moment…because it won’t be back again. Capture the dog wearing antlers.

Dance in paper snowflakes. Lick the brownie batter. Sing at the top of my lungs. Wear the favorite sweater on a Thursday, what am I saving it for? Watch classic movies…and cartoons.

Tell family I love them. Send the card. Write the email.

Thank God.

One thought on “Dance In The Snow

  1. yeah….I agree…I found myself thinking about what things I was putting off…did call a good friend today-put that off for several months. Please don’t stop writing these things so I can always be reminded….I really love your blog.

Leave a Reply

