Silent Night

Often times it is in the silent, the quiet of reflection that I realize the most profound. It is when the noise stops, the TV is off, the games are muted…that I can ponder.

Mary pondered.

But Mary treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart. Luke 2:19  NIV

Mary, the chosen one.

She said “yes” to God….her part in His perfect plan.

In the quiet I am sure she was scared…and nervous about what others would think.

She did not feel worthy of the responsibility. The privilege.

But still, she said yes. Yes, to the One who knew her future.

Jesus, humble child. Born into a world of darkness all those many nights ago.

Jesus. The One, whom the angels sang about and that the shepherds were in awe of.

The King nestled in a feeding trough

and Mary leaned over and kissed the face of God.

This Christmas, like Mary, I want to quiet myself.

Prepare a place for Jesus.

I want to say “yes” to Him, again.

****************************************

How are you preparing your heart this Christmas?

3 thoughts on “Silent Night

  1. I’ve been working with this story a lot in the last couple of weeks, but something about your words – the way you talked about Mary – really touched me. Thanks for linking to my blog.

  2. Thanks, Dawn.
    I wish I could be quiet and do more listening to God than talking.
    I love the silence and my special time with God when I’m the only one awake (usually early morning)
    Great post. I needed to hear that.
    I need to DO that more often.
    Thanks for reminding me.

Leave a Reply

