Archive | 10:07 am

Gratitude Is A Discipline

7 Nov
Tree

Image by Adnan Yahya via Flickr

Why is it so much easier to find fault than it is to be thankful?

I look around and see the living room is a mess.

The kitchen counter is sticky.

I need to sweep the floor.

There is a mountain of laundry.

I have a mental to do list a mile long.

It is never ending.

I grumble, maybe not out loud…but, in my heart.

Which is worse?

There is a reason that showing gratitude is a discipline. It is not first nature. It is more difficult. It takes work.

It is easier to complain than to praise.

I’m quicker to mumble than to see the miracle.

How blind I’ve allowed myself to become on a daily basis.

I need to open my eyes.

Open my heart.

To all I have…

because of all He is.

***********************************

 Enter his gates with thanksgiving
   and his courts with praise;
   give thanks to him and praise his name.
 For the LORD is good and his love endures forever;
   his faithfulness continues through all generations. Psalm 100: 4-5  NIV

*dark blues and smoky grays of  November mornings

*naked tree branches reaching into the gray, autumn sky

*the smell of French Vanilla Dunkin Donuts coffee

*a calm morning

*my husband, who almost always wakes up in a good mood

*this man who loves me through it all

*my son who races around in the morning at 100 mph

*my other son who keeps me calm and centered

*my daughter who teases me before she trudges out to the barn

*12 acres in the country

*combines with big headlights that look like UFO’s in the night

*the sound of the dogs barking

*friends who I still keep in touch with over the miles

*family

*home made hot cocoa

*God made a way for me

*Jesus loves me…enough.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 974 other followers