Finding My Voice

The microphone for the video game The Beatles:...

Image via Wikipedia

Today the topic is:  Finding My Voice. Bonnie, at Faith Barista, always seems to ask the tough questions.

****************************************************

Growing up I was always the quiet one.

The people pleaser.

The one who always did what needed to be done.

I didn’t want teachers calling on me, not because I didn’t know the answers, but because…

I was uncomfortable with my own voice.

What if what I said sounded stupid? What if what I said didn’t make sense? What if what I said wasn’t useful?

“What if” is a killer and fear is its accomplice.

Suffocating.

Silent.

But, deadly nonetheless.

It took me a long time to realize that what I had to say was just as important as the next person’s words.

And just as valid.

The older I get the more I realize that words are important.

That they need to be said.

That they should be said.

That voices are meant to be used.

That words can cause change.

Build courage. Right wrongs. Show compassion. Be encouragement. Find friends. Make people laugh.

Ease pain. Speak truth. Give assistance. Show passion. Be powerful. Be gentle. Allow worship and song.

Give courage. Show emotion.

Words are real…whether spoken or written.

I am no longer uncomfortable with my words.

My voice is a part of me…

And I choose to let it be heard.

May these words of my mouth and this meditation of my heart
   be pleasing in your sight,
   LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.  Psalm 19:14  NIV

****************************************

FaithBarista_FreshJamBadgeG

4 thoughts on “Finding My Voice

  1. I am struggling with this right now. Since my Mother passed away there are some pretty wicked things being said and the more I try to talk the more shouting there is…if they won’t let me speak I become silent and yesterday they shouted for way too long…way too mean…
    When I speak they laugh in my face and don’t believe me…so today I am writing my thoughts and sending them. I am hoping the Lord releases me from this and if not then shows me a way to live with the lies they are telling. My Mother would be so ashamed of our family right now. It brings such great sorrow!

Leave a Reply

