Archive | 11:21 am

Never Will I Leave

1 Sep
Butterfly on flower bushes

Today, Bonnie at Faith Barista, is having us jam on this topic: Share anything you’d like about your alone time with God.

I thought about that….

and I thought about it some more.

While mulling this over, something that she had put in her “writing tips” post, yesterday, struck me…

“For your reader is a friend waiting to be discovered.  He or she wants to know they are  not alone.  And your words can set them free. Not because you have the answers, but because you know their questions.”

Because you know their questions…

The questions come fast and furious this day.

Why?  Am I the only one that feels this way? I just don’t get it. I’m tired. Weary. What’s the point, God?

My whitespace, today, consisted of a long walk, by myself, down a quiet country road. I needed to get away. I needed to talk with God.

I don’t know about you, but there are many days on my walk with the Lord that all I am capable of, is putting one foot in front of the other. I don’t know my destination. I just know that I have to walk…with Him.

Sometimes the walk is quiet. There is calmness and stillness as I stop and survey the field that appears to be alive with the movement of hundreds of butterflies. I am caught up in the beauty and wonder of it all. I lift praises to my God for all the intricate pieces He created, that play out in nature…and in life.

Sometimes my walk is hard as my feet pound against the pavement in what can only be described as an angry stomp. Just me and tall corn on this morning. A bee buzzes by my head and is completely unfazed by my belligerent attitude…but, God is not. He hears me, even when I don’t speak.

…The LORD does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.”  I Samuel 16:7 NIV

Sometimes the morning brings soul pain. Longing…for what? I’m not sure. Words don’t come.  Hot tears fall and my sobs are carried away by the wind.

You keep track of all my sorrows. You have collected all my tears in your bottle. You have recorded each one in your book.  Psalm 56:8  NLT

I survey the cows that are munching out in the neighbor’s far field. They appear content to just be out and about. Chewing their cud. Not worrying about what the day holds. God sees them. Lowly cattle. How much more important to Him, am I?

for every animal of the forest is mine,
   and the cattle on a thousand hills.
    I know every bird in the mountains,
   and the insects in the fields are mine. Psalm 50:10-11 NIV

And the questions are there during that walk. Sometimes right on the surface, and other times buried deep but, not too deep for Him.

I am alone.

But, I am not lonely.

Because He is with me.

Always.

“Never will I leave you;
   never will I forsake you.”  Hebrews 13:5  NIV

And I rest in that…

Amen.

**********************************************************************

FaithBarista_FreshJamBadgeG

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 974 other followers