Feathering The Nest

Pumpkins, photographed in Canada.

Image via Wikipedia

Okay people….I know it is only August 30th. I also know that regardless of the ACTUAL beginning day of Fall on the calendar, I consider Labor Day the time to begin decorating. The night temperature actually got down to 57 degrees here. This means that Fall is right around the corner. It had better be! After a long, hot summer, I am more than ready for the days ahead.

I’m ready to pull out blankets and fluff pillows.

Get out all my apple spice, cinnamon, and pumpkin pie scented candles.

I will begin dreaming of pumpkins and gourds.

Warm sweaters.

Cozy socks.

Cool days and chilly nights.

Harvest moon.

The sound of tractors as they move through the fields.

Corn shocks put up the old fashioned way by the Amish.

Meandering drives through back country roads.

Apple butter.

Bonfires.

The smell of wood smoke.

Walks through the woods.

Leaves in fiery shades of orange, red, and yellow.

Football games.

Hot chocolate or mocha lattes.

It’s the most wonderful time of the year!

 

6 thoughts on “Feathering The Nest

  1. A while back, when I first found your blog, I thought that we could be friends in a single afternoon over a cup of coffee. This post is one of those reads that confirms that thought 🙂 These are a few of my favorite things about the Autumn season…welcoming it as each day passes!

  2. I just stopped by your blog for the first time and wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed it. I think that by the end of each season, we are all looking forward to the next. The only thing I’m not ready to give up just yet are the vine ripe tomatoes.

  3. Pingback: The Best Is Yet To Come « It Just Dawned On Me

Leave a Reply

